Microsoft claims to be the leader in performance among desktop browsers, despite today's release of Google Chrome 91.

“Microsoft Edge will be the fastest browser for Windows 10 with the release of Microsoft Edge 91 this week. What are the grounds for this assertion, you ask? The answer is simple: Startup Boost and Sleeping Tabs.”

from an official statement from the Microsoft Edge development team

Recall that Microsoft added a feature in the March release of Edge 89, announcing an increase of up to 41% in browser performance. The Sleeping Tabs feature also appeared in Edge this year. This is a mechanism for efficient allocation of system resources - if necessary, it automatically unloads inactive tabs from memory and redirects resources to the active tabs that the user is working with at a particular moment. And recently, developers have begun testing a new performance mode with a different principle for the operation of “sleeping” tabs.

Microsoft Edge is testing a new performance mode with a different way of working with "sleeping" tabs

Microsoft утверждает, что Edge теперь «самый быстрый браузер для Windows 10»

Remarkably, against the backdrop of increased competition from Microsoft, Google has also perked up - for the past six months, Chrome developers have been actively working to improve performance and more efficient energy consumption in the Chrome browser. It wasn't until March that Google announced they were cutting Chrome's new release cycle from six to four weeks, when Microsoft immediately moved Edge to a four-week update schedule as well.

Microsoft separately emphasized its contribution to the development of the Chromium project - to date, the company has made 5300 commits. Actually, not so long ago, Google Chrome borrowed a piece of Microsoft Edge - an improved Segment Heap memory allocation mechanism. In addition, as competitors, Google and Microsoft are actively collaborating on the Chromium project.

Last week, Microsoft announced the exact date of the final end of support for Internet Explorer - June 15, 2022.

Microsoft will finally "kill" Internet Explorer in the summer of next year - support for IE 11 in Windows 10 will end on June 15

Microsoft претендует на лидерство по быстродействию среди настольных браузеров, несмотря на сегодняшний релиз Google Chrome 91.

«Microsoft Edge станет самым быстрым браузером для Windows 10 с выходом Microsoft Edge 91 на этой неделе. Вы спросите, какие есть основания для этого утверждения? Ответ прост: Startup Boost и Sleeping Tabs».

из официального заявления команды разработчиков Microsoft Edge

Напомним, Microsoft добавила функцию в мартовском релизе Edge 89, заявив о прибавке до 41% в производительности браузера. Функция Sleeping Tabs тоже появилась в Edge в этом году. Это механизм эффективного распределения системных ресурсов — при необходимости он автоматически выгружает неактивные вкладки из памяти и перенаправляет ресурсы на активные вкладки, с которыми пользователь работает в конкретный момент. И недавно разработчики приступили к тестированию нового режима производительности с иным принципом работы «спящих» вкладок.

В Microsoft Edge тестируется новый режим производительности с иным принципом работы «спящих» вкладок

Microsoft утверждает, что Edge теперь «самый быстрый браузер для Windows 10»

Что примечательно, на фоне усиления конкуренции со стороны Microsoft компания Google тоже оживилась — последние полгода разработчики Chrome активно работают над улучшением производительности и более эффективным расходом энергии в браузере Chrome. И только в марте Google объявила о сокращении цикла подготовки новых выпусков Chrome с шести до четырех недель, как Microsoft сразу же тоже перевела Edge на четырехнедельный график обновления.

В Microsoft отдельно подчеркнули свой вклад в развитие проекта Chromium — к настоящему моменту компания сделала 5300 коммитов. Собственно, не так давно Google Chrome позаимствовал частичку Microsoft Edge — улучшенный механизм распределения памяти Segment Heap. Кроме того, будучи конкурентами, Google и Microsoft активно сотрудничают по проекту Chromium.

На прошлой неделе Microsoft сообщила точную дату окончательного прекращения поддержки Internet Explorer — 15 июня 2022 года.

Microsoft окончательно «убьет» Internet Explorer летом следующего года — поддержка IE 11 в Windows 10 прекратится 15 июня